Medical Anthropology Books

Looking for a good Medical Anthropology book to use in class?  Each year, the Society for Medical Anthropology awards the Eileen Basker Memorial Prize, awarded annually for a significant contribution to anthropological scholarship on gender and health by a scholar (or scholars) from any discipline or nation for a specific book, article, film, or exceptional PhD thesis produced within the preceding three years. The Prize is awarded to the work judged to be the most courageous, significant, and potentially influential contribution to this area of scholarship.

The Prize was founded by Virginia R. Dominguez in collaboration with the Society for Medical Anthropology in 1987 following the death of Israeli-American critical medical anthropologist and feminist, Eileen Basker, in October 1986.

The winners of the Basker Prize include:

2016: Joanna Kempner — Not Tonight: Migraine and the Politics of Gender and Health
: Tine Gammeltoft — Haunting Images: A Cultural Account of Selective Reproduction in Vietnam; honorable mention to Sameena Mulla — The Violence of Care: Rape Victims, Forensic Nurses, and Sexual Assault Intervention.
2014: Sarah Pinto – Daughters of Parvati: Women and Madness in Contemporary India
2013: Alexander Edmonds — Pretty ModernHonorable mention to Kimberly Theidon for Intimate Enemies
2012: Carole Browner and Carolyn Sargent – Reproduction, Globalization, and The State
2011: Ida Susser – Aids, Sex, and Culture; and Leslie Regan – Dangerous Pregnancies
2010: Elly Teman – Birthing A Mother
2009: Janelle Taylor – The Public Life Of The Fetal Sonogram
2008: Matt Gutmann – Fixing Men; and Kathy Davis – The Making Of Our Bodies Ourselves
2007: Sophie Day – On The Game
2006: Michele Rivkin-Fish – Women’s Health In Post-Soviet Russia
2005: Joao Biehl – Vita
2004: Sandra Morgen – Into Our Hands
2003: Caroline Bledsoe (and Fatoumatta Banja) – Contingent Lives
2002: Rhoda Kanaaneh – Birthing The Nation
2001:  Susan Kahn – Reproducing Jews
2000: Gelya Frank – Venus On Wheels
1999: Rayna Rapp – Testing Women, Testing The Fetus; and Adele Clarke – Disciplining Reproduction
1998: No Prize (As Per Decision Of The Selection Committee)
1997: Paul Farmer, Margaret Connors, and Janie Simmons – Women, Poverty, and Aids
1996: No Prize (As Per Decision Of The Selection Committee)
1995: Marcia Inhorn – Quest For Conception
1994: Margarete Sandelowski – With Child In Mind
1993: Barbara Duden – The Woman Beneath The Skin; and Margaret Lock – Encounters With Aging
1992: Nancy Scheper-Hughes – Death Without Weeping
1991: No Prize (Due To A Change In Personnel)
1990: Faye Ginsburg – Contested Lives
1989: Joan Jacobs Brumberg – Fasting Girls
1988: Emily Martin – The Woman In The Body

Medical Anthropology Books
Tagged on: